Area : 4,888 sq km

Total Population : 2,14,102

 Male : 1,10,802

 Female : 1,03,300

Sex Ratio : 932 female per 1000 male

Density : 44 persons per sq km

Literacy Rate : 77.54%

Male : 83.29%

Female :. 71.33%

District HO : Haflong

Sub-Division : Three.

Sub-Division : HO

Haflong- Haflong

Maibong- Maibong

Diyungbra- Diyungbra

Boundaries : Karbi Anglong and Nagaon on the north; Nagaland and Monipur on the east; Cachar on the south, and Meghalaya on the west.

Riven & Tributaries : Kapili, Jiri, Siri, Jatinga, Modhura.

Important Places : Haflong, Maibong, Mahur, Garam-pani, Jatinga. Diam Hasao is a district of south Assam. The district has the lowest density of population. (44 person per sq km). It is said, until 1832, the Dima Hasao district was a part of the Kachari kingdom. In different periods, its capital was established in various places like Dimapur. Maibong. Khaspur etc. The Dimasa Kachari king Gobinda Chandra was murdered in 1830 by the group of rebels led by his Commander-in-Chief Gambhir Singh Later in 1832 the British took its southern region under their control. The rest of the region went under the rule of Dimasa Commander-in-Chief Tularam. But after the demise of Tularam in 1854, the British claimed their rule over the whole region After India got its independence. this region was kept under the administrative control of the state of Assam. After several political rejuvenation and recycle, in 2″ February 1970. the autonomous district of North Cachar Hills was formed (Now known as Dima Hasao). The administration of this district is controlled by the North Cachar Hills Auto-nomous District Council. The district council has three divisions, namely Legislative. Executive and Judiciary. The Indian constitution has vested a significant amount of power to this council under article sixth. Except for the departments of the General Administration, Police, Treasury and Electoral and Judicial. the Assam government has given independent respon-sibility to this district in rest of the departments. Currently there are 695 villages in Dima Hasao district. The 68% of total population of the district is belongs to the hill tribal communitie, i e. the Dimasa, Jemi Naga, Hmar, Karbi, Kuki, Jaintia, Hrangkhol, Biate, Thadao, Khelma, Vaiphet and Mizo. The rest of the population comprises Bengali. Nepali and oche communities The major portion of the district is covered by hills. The main range is Borail of which Thumjang is the highest peak at 1.866 m followed by Hempeupet at 1,748 m. The other main range is Khartheng from Dittokcherra to Garampani. Livestock and poultry occupy an important place in the rural economy of the districts. Buffalo. pig etc are the most common livestock while hen and duck comprise poultry Limestone and coal in small quantity are found in the neighbourhood of Garampani. Carbonaceous shale is avaible in Baga area. Good quality of limestone low in Manganese and suitable for cement manufacturing is also available. Cement factories, saw-mills etc are the private sector industries in the district. There are four cement plants in the district. Also, NEEPCO has established’Kapdi Hydel Project at Umrangso which generates sizeable quantity of power. Apart from these,weaving is also considered to be a household industry in the district. Large areas have been covered by Ed and Mulberry farms. Assam Hill Small Industrial Development Corporation has set up a fruit preservation unit at Jatinga The major forest products consists of timber, cane, bamboo etc. Other minor forest products include Agar, Chalmugra etc. Boulders and gravels in the river beds along with stones are also available aplenty. Haflong is the district headquarter town. Situated at 380 km away from Guwahati, Haflong is a magnificent town with divine charm. It is known as the ‘Scotland of Assam’ for its natural beauty. Haflong, the centre of education and culture of the district is also a tourist’s spot. Many tourists from all over the world come to Jatinga which is only 9 km off the town. They come to watch the unexplained phenomenon of migratory birds ‘committing mass suicide’ in the village of Jatinga and in the Haflong lack. Maibong is a sub-division of Dima Hasao and a sub-divisional town of the same name. Maibong, the ancient capital of the great Kachari Kings, is 47 km away from Haflong. The Kacharies established their capital at Maibong after the Ahoms had occupied their former capital Dimapur. The relics of stone house of Kachari Kings, temples and other such ruins are found in this place Mahur, a rivulet flows by the side of Maibong. This hilly rivulet has enhanced the natural beauty of this area. Maibong is an important tourist’s spot of the State.

Dima Hasao is one in every of the 2 hills district of Assam within the North jap Region. it had been a section of Cachar district until the formation of United N.C.Hills & Mikir Hills districts in 1951. The Constitution of India gave it the standing of Associate in Nursing autonomous district. The Dima Hasao Autonomous District Council (D.H.A.C.) was entrenched beneath the provisions of the sixth schedule to the Constitution of Asian country to administer this autonomous district. In 1970 N.C.Hills was separated from the United N.C.Hills & Mikir Hills & declared a full fledged district. North Cachar Hills Autonomous Council has 3 wings of administration, viz., general assembly, Judiciary, and government. except for the themes enshrined within the sixth schedule, the Govt. of Assam have transferred most the departments beside the chief power to the Council except General Administration, Police, Treasury, Election and Judiciary. 
                 North Cachar comprises of two sub- divisions viz Haflong and Maibang . There square measure tw0Revenue Circles (Tehsils), viz – Haflong and Maibang. so as to produce higher organic process facilities, the district has been divided into five Community Development Blocks – Jatinga vale Development Block,Mahur, Diyung vale Development Block, Maibang, Harangajao ITD Block, Harangajao, Diyungbra ITD Block, Diyungmukh, New Sangbar Development Block, Sangbar.
For higher body management, the district space is split into four Police stations viz. Haflong, Mahur, Mabang, Umrangso.

Administrative Set-up in Dima Hasao District

Administrative LevelNameHead Quarter
DistrictDIMA HASAO DISTRICT  (North Cachar Hills)Haflong 
Sub-division(1) Haflong Sadar Sub-division    (2) Maibang Sub-division(1) Haflong (2) Maibang
Revenue CircleHaflong CircleHaflong
      Police StationPolice Stations Outpost / TOP
Haflong P.S.Sarkaribagan
Mahur P.S.
Maibang P.S.
Umrangso P.S.3kilo. OP
Lanting P.S.Hatikhali
Dihangi P.S.
Diyungmukh P.S.Manderdisa
Harangajao P.SDittockcharra
Administrative LevelNameHead Quarter
C.D. BlockJatinga Valley Development BlockMahur
Diyung Valley Development  BlockMaibang
Harangajao ITD BlockHarangajao
Diyungbra ITD BlockDiyungmukh
New Sangbar Development BlockSangbar

District Administration

The head of District Administration is Deputy Commissioner. He acts as District Magistrate in case of maintenance of Law and Order and General Administration, as District Election Officer just in case of conduct of Election and so on. The Deputy Commissioner is motor-assisted by variety of Officers like extra Deputy Commissioner, Superintendent of Police, Sub-divisional Officers, further Assistant Commissioners and others.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *