Area : 7,399 sq km Total Population : 9,56,313 (Undivided KarbiAnglog)

Male : 4,90,167 Female : 4,66,146 Sex Ratio : 951 female per 1000 male

 Density : 92 persons per sq km

Literacy Rate : 69.25% Male : 76.14% Female : 62.00% District HQ : Diphu Sub-Division : Three. Sub-Division : HQ Diphu Diphu Bokajan Bokajan Howraghat Hawraghat

Boundaries : Nagaon and Golaghat on the north; Golaghat on the east; Dima Hasao and Nagaland on the south; and Hojai on the west. Rivers & Tributaries : Dhansiri, Nambar. Koliyoni, Kapili, Ming. Karbi Anglong, one of the two hill districts of the Assam, is the biggest district of the State but has the second lowest density with only 92 persons per sq km as per data available by 2011 census. The whole district is covered by hills, except some narrow strips of flat lands on the border along the banks of a few rivers. The district is divided into three sub-divisions: Diphu, Hamren and Bokajan. The Karbi Anglong district is situated in the central part of Assam.The district with dense tropical forests covered hills and flat plains.The district has 4911.019 sq km area of forest land. There are many reserves in this district. The highest peak among the hills is the Singhason (height 1,359 m). Due to the variations in the topography, this hill district experiences different climates in different parts. The winter commences from October and continues till February. During summer, the weather becomes sultry. The temperature range’s from 6 degree to 12 degree celsius in. winter and 23 degree to 32 celsius in summer. The average annual rainfall is about 2,416 mm. Karbi Anglong is an autonomous hill district of Assam. This district was formed according to the 6th schedule of the Indian constitution, After the independence of India, in 17I” November, 1951, including this region the united Mikir Hills and North-Cachar hills district was formed. In 1970, this district was separated and two independent, Mikir Hills district and North-Cachar hills district were formed. The Mikir Hills district was again rechristened as Karbi Anglong district on 14°- October. 1976 Thus Karbi Anglong came into being as a full fledged separate district with its headquarter at Diphu The Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council looks after the development sector of this district. This council is also has authority over various administrative departments. However authority over few important departments is vested upon the state and the central government. The Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council can apply some rules and regulations only after the approval of the Governor. The number of members of this council is 30. Twenty six of them are elected members and the rest four are nominated members. There is one parliamentary constituency (Diphu). This constituency holds five legislative assembly constituencies, namely, Haflong, Bokajan, Hawraghat, Diphu and Boithalangsu. The population of the district is predominantly tribal. The major tribal ethnic groups of the district are Karbi. Bodo, Kuki, Dimasa, Hmar, Garo. Rengma Naga. Tiwa etc. Besides, a large number of non-tribals are live together in this hill district. The district is rich in natural resource. Limestone is found in Dillai and Sainilangso, China clay is found in Upper Deopani and Silonijan and Coal is found in Koilajan and Silbheta. Feldspar is found in Koilajan. Karbi Anglong is also rich in forest resource. A large portion of Population of Karbi Anglong district depends upon agriculture Paddy is main produce here and many other crops are also grown. The jhum cultivation is practiced in the hilly areas. There are a few industries in this district. The topmost are cement factory of Bokajan, a few rubber and chitranala industries, rice mill, tea garden factories etc. Diphu is the present head quarter of Karbi Anglong as well as of its District Council. Several educational institutions have come up in the town of Diphu in recent times and small industries including a plywood factory have enhanced its importance as an industrial centre too. Motorable roads connect the town with various places in the plains. Hawraghat, known as the granary of the district, is 108 km away from Diphu. Bokajan, another marketing centre of the district has grown manifold in prominence with the construction of a Cement Factory by the Cement Coroporation of India. Karbi Anglong is well known for sugar-cane cultivation. The growing town also has rice mills and plywood factories. Nij-Rongkhang known as the seat of Karbi culture and traditions, is a typical Karbi village atop a small hillock. Remains and ruins of ancient temples and statues are found in Socheng, Tarabasa, Phulani, Dighal-pani, Moudanga, Deopani and Nabanga. On 15 August, 2015 AsSam Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi announced the formation of a new district named West Karbi Anglong.This district is curved out of Hamren Sub-division of Karbi Anglong district. Due to creation of the new district, the area, population etc. of Karbi Anglong district is affected.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *